June 3, 2015

82° Fair

MSHOF announces Ferris finalists

Published 10:30 am Tuesday, May 13, 2014

JACKSON — Ole Miss pitcher Chris Ellis and Mississippi State pitcher Ross Mitchell are two of the five finalists for this year’s C Spire Ferriss Trophy.

The award, which is given by the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum, goes to the best college baseball player in Mississippi.

Ellis has an 8-0 record with a 1.96 ERA as the Rebels’ Friday night ace. Mitchell moved to the starting rotation midway through the season and has a 7-4 record with a 1.98 ERA.

The other finalists are MSU reliever Jacob Lindgren, Belhaven pitcher/first baseman Tyler Akins, and Ole Miss outfielder Auston Bousfield.

The winner will be announced May 19 at the Hall of Fame.